Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Sweden

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object, on my blog. I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you might know where the following mystery photo was taken, or what it is. If you guess correctly, I will credit you the following week and post a link to your site/blog.

Monday Mystery

Guest contributions are always welcome and this is the fourth week I am delighted to present a photo from SnowMeltsSomewhere.  If you also have a great photo that you think could mystify my readers, simply drop me an email or leave a comment indicating you would like to submit a Monday Mystery photograph.

Here is this weeks photo:

MMP March 14th16 (003)

Will you hazard a guess at this week’s photograph?

Here is a reminder of last week’s photograph: MMP march7thSMS

Tara thought it might be Bulgaria, whist Gerard (Helvi) and Suvi guessed the Baltic region  and they were not really too far wrong. It was actually from Sweden! Although I knew it was potentially Stockholm, I thought it may have been a street scene from Gamla Stan, but it was Södermalm. Terrific guesses everyone!

SnowMeltsSomewhere revealed that it is a  street scene from a central area of Stockholm, called Södermalm. The houses are old, very old, but they are still lived in! Marvellous!

The name Södermalm (“suthraemalm”) is first mentioned in 1288 in a letter from Bishop Anund of Strängnäs. Until the early 17th century Södermalm was mainly a rural, agricultural area.[2] Its first urban areas were planned and built in the mid 17th century, comprising a mixture of working class housing, such as the little red cottages of which a few can still be seen in northeastern Södermalm, and the summer houses and pavilions of wealthier families, such as Emanuel Swedenborg’s pavilion, which is now in the outdoor museum Skansen.[Wiki]

Good luck with this week’s photograph!

Monday Mystery Photo is something to Ponder About

 

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Monday mystery photo, Sweden / Sverige and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Sweden

  1. I don’t know where it is but I know I wouldn’t want to live there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really don’t know. The city needs a river badly. Is it Bangkok?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a stuffy city, don’t have green anywhere TT_TT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ledrakenoir says:

    Wonder if there is a sushi restaurant or two in this “jungle”, fascinating architecture in this pic… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Fun to see the answers 🙂 Since I just joined Twitter, I’m going to share this post there

    Liked by 1 person

  6. milliethom says:

    There are so many cities nowadays with skyscrapers – but this one also has an elevated highway through it. Could it be Tokyo?

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.