Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Spain

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you might know where this week’s photograph, shown immediately below, is located. If you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog when the answer will be revealed the following week. Guest submissions of MM photos are very welcome. Drop me an email if you would like to submit a photography to Monday Mystery Photo.

Here is this week’s photo, kindly submitted for you by guest contributor, Blogger Leya. who has some fabulous photos on her blog, if you wish to visit. Just before I had an extended summer break this week, Anne-C sent me some of her wonderful photos, for Monday Mystery, including this one –

Where in the world could this be located?

leya

NB. Again this week, I am going to hold the comments and approve them manually, releasing them on Friday/Saturday this week, so if your comment isn’t showing immediately, this is why. It will give everyone a chance to guess without looking at the previously posted comments. 

Everyone then has a good deal to ponder about!

Cordoba Wheel

Cordoba Wheel

Last week (photo above), MMP was in Andalusia, in Spain, courtesy of  blogger, Millie Thom, who has kindly written the information below, about last week’s photo. Thanks so much Millie!

The following people guessed the location correctly:

Pooja from Stories from Europe,

Tidious Ted from Recipereminiscing

Drake from Le drake noir

The Albolafia Water Mill

The mill is situated in the city of Córdoba in Andalucía, Southern Spain. It sits on the northern bank of the River Guadalquivir, a little downriver of the famous Roman bridge. It was built during the rule of the emir, Abd al-Rahman II (731–788) to carry water up to the Alcazar (palace) by means of an aqueduct. This wheel (as well as another three on ‘islands’ across the river) was rotated by the current generated by man-made weirs or mill races.

The Albolafia wheel we see today has been restored, the original having been dismantled on the orders of Queen Isabella (of Ferdinand and Isabella fame, parents of Catherine of Aragon). It seems that Isabella – or Isabel La Católica, as she was known – disliked the loud squeaking of the chains and buckets as they transported water into the palace gardens for irrigation purposes.

Some very interesting historic facts to ponder about.

Monday Mystery

 

Save

Save

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Spain

  1. Wow I am glad I got it correct last week, despite having never been to Andalusia before. I guess I spend too much time checking out photos from places.. ha ha. 😀 I really want to travel to that region some day, especially Seville.
    This week it’s a bit confusing.. I want to wildly guess New Zealand but I am also thinking about Turkey where they have such naturally formed rock pools.. Hmm but the trees suggest otherwise… It could be New Zealand, I’m sure they have a lot of wild natural stuff going down there..

    Like

  2. Tara says:

    What an interesting photo. This is a complete guess but I was going to say Portugal or maybe The Azores.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tidiousted says:

    The first thing that struck me was Iceland as I’m half Icelandic, so I’ve been there a lot, my mother was from Iceland. But the vegitation says something else. Neither does it look like the picture is taken at Yellowstone in the US. So I’m going for New Zealand, the only other place I know there are hot springs like this. But I might be way off this time 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know you were half Icelandic! What a wonderful heritage. You definitely have some Viking blood! There sure is plenty of geothermal activity happening there. And you also have a good geographic knowledge!! We will see, come Monday whether you are correct again, this week!!! Thanks for participating!

      Like

  4. ledrakenoir says:

    At first sight, I stand between two choices where this water could be – Iceland in north and New Zealand in south – know the first well and know the trees aren’t the strong side of their nature, so it have to be from the southern part of the world… 🙂

    Like

  5. Amanda, what a gorgeous capture. I want to go there and just sit and be.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. restlessjo says:

    I don’t really know but Leya has some beautiful shots. Possibly Iceland, but probably not 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leya does have some awesome photographs! I have noted your answer Jo, and will reveal the answer on Monday, when I also am hoping to have another ‘restlessjo walks’ – post ready. All depends on the amount of time I have for blogging this weekend. Thanks for particpating.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. mistermuse says:

    My guess is Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming, USA. I know there are many other thermal areas in the world, so I could be wrong. My second guess would be New Zealand (North Island).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mistermuse, and welcome to Monday Mystery photo! I have noted your answer and I thank you for participating.I will reveal the answer on Monday, when we shall have a new photo, with which to test our knowledge!

      Like

  8. milliethom says:

    It’s an impressive photo, Amanda, although I’ve no idea where it is. It looks sort of tropical – or sub-tropical – and I can’t make out whether that’s steam coming off the water, as in volcanic or particularly hot areas. Is that yellow band on the water scum (lol) or sulphur? The ‘stepped’ rocks are interesting too…

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is difficult for me to answer your question without giving too much away, Millie, so I hope you don’t mind if I answer you on the next post on Monday, when the location will be revealed. Anne-Christine, (Leya from Sweden), sent me this photo some time back, so I can’t claim the skill in photography at all! I agree it is an awesome photo.

      Like

  9. Leya says:

    Many good guesses! Fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.