Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Montreaux

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you might know where this week’s photograph, shown immediately below, is located. If you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog when the answer will be revealed the following week. Guest submissions of MM photos are very welcome. Drop me an email if you would like to submit a photography to Monday Mystery Photo.

Where in the world might the following scene be located?

wp-1476482567496.jpg

Last week we were in the French part of Switzerland at Montreaux, at the Freddie Mercury statue in the city.  Mel & Suan, TidiousTed  and Drake got the guernsey this week for a correct guess!  Congratulations!

montreaux

montreaux

Why was the statue here? According to MySwitzerland:

At the Montreux Jazz Festival in 1978, the singer recorded the album “Jazz” with Queen. He fell in love with Montreux and Lake Geneva and decided to settle here. He said, among other things, “If you want peace of soul, come to Montreux”.

To commemorate his time in Montreux, a bronze statue of Freddie Mercury was placed by the waterfront in 1996. And what of today? Well, his fans still come and place flowers by his monument every day.

NB.  I am going to hold the comments and approve them manually, releasing them on Friday/Saturday this week, so if your comment isn’t showing immediately, this is why. It will give everyone a chance to guess, without looking at the previously posted comments.  Good luck everyone!

Everyone then has a good deal to ponder about!

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community, Monday mystery photo and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Montreaux

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Woohoo! But this one’s tough.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I have travelled the world to I could actually guess a photo. I will be so excited if I ever see anywhere I recognise!

    Like

Comments are closed.