Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Cahuachi

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you might know where this week’s photograph, shown immediately below, is located. If you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog when the answer will be revealed the following week. Guest submissions of Monday Mystery Photos are very welcome. Drop me an email if you would like to submit a photography to Monday Mystery Photo.

Thanks goes to Pooja from Stories from Europe for submitting this week’s Mystery photo.

Where in the world might the following scene be located?

pooja6

Last week we were with Peggy from Where to Next? in Peru

mmpjan30-17

Were you correct? Don’t worry if you weren’t, as this one stumped quite a few well traveled readers. Drake took out the first correct guess for 2017, correctly identifying the site, as Cahuachi, located in Peru. I will let Peggy elaborate further:

Cahuachi- Is a South American wonder. It’s in Peru and was mostly likely the major ceremonial centre of the Nazca culture that dated from 1 AD to about 500 AD.

The site was ‘rediscovered’ in 1922 by a Dr Frabee and has been studied and excavated regularly ever since.

At first, scholars thought Cahuachi had been the Nazca capital (it overlooks some of the famous Nazca lines), but research indicates that it had a very small permanent population. For this reason, archaeologists believe it was a pilgrimage centre, with a population that increased only for major ceremonial events.

The site has 40 mounds (the one pictured is the largest) with adobe structures on top. It appears these were naturally occurring hills.

Restoration work is being carried out now. Unfortunately, looting is a major problem. Thieves aren’t interested in the tools or building materials, but the burial sites that have been discovered in recent years.

Many thanks to Peggy for this excellent submission for Monday Mystery Photo. I think it has given us all Something important to Ponder About in regard to human history and experience.

Monday Mystery

Save

Save

Save

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Cahuachi

  1. Yinglan says:

    The photo looks like somewhere in California.

    Like

  2. Hi Amanda. Good to see you that you’re back 🙂 I hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Scheveningen, Holland. I reckon.

    Like

  4. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh we were in Peru and did not venture to Nazca area. Sigh this means we need to be back again! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Last weeks photo and information was informative, interesting place and history.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Ineke! Peggy has visited some unusual places! The bonus of having guest submissions is that we learn of so many diverse places around the world. Some might even go on our travel wishlist? Have you been to the South American continent?

      Like

    • True, I am always open for discovering new places. I’ve been to South America. See a bit of Brasil, Paraguay, Uruguay, also Iguazu waterfall.

      Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds like a wonderful trip. The falls are I believe spectacular to day the least. Perhaps you have a photo you could email me for MMP of a place of your choice? I don’t have hatdly any from Africa or Sputh America.

      Like

    • The falls were full when we were there. Even the sight from the airplane was absolutely awesome. I’m really going to make a point of finding a good photo from SA. As soon as I am back home again I’ll send you one. It doesn’t need to be a building, does it?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Not at all. It can be anything as long as it is remotely recognizable. Is the house sitting your new job?

      Like

    • No not really. I started doing it for this friend of mine. Last year I advertised in the school’s newsletter that I would do it, The next day the owner of the farm booked me for the two weeks in Dec/Jan.( that was in July ) End Dec my friend suddenly asked me to do these two weeks I’m doing at the moment. I didn’t mind doing it during the term when I didn’t have the after school care job. It’s not easy to do it during the term now. I’m going to pick a SA photo and send it to you as soon as I am home and on line with my laptop.I’m using my friends laptop here

      Liked by 1 person

    • Okay. That sounds perfect Ineke! Thank you

      Liked by 1 person

  6. tidiousted says:

    That was a hard one Amanda 😉 As the ships are so close to land I would guess we are somewhere along the English Chanel on the English side. They are most known for their piers. But where on the English south coast, that’s harder to guess. It looks like just a rest of a pier as there is no large building at the end, but the lamps looks old. I know storms have ruined a few along the coastline there, but the English Chanel coast is as close as my guess is this Monday – Ted 😉

    Like

    • Hi Ted, Pooja has definitely set us a difficult challenge this week. I think your guess is a very good one, given that there are no distinguishing features that indicate otherwise. We will just have to wait till next Monday to find out just where it really is! Thanks so much for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. lakeshaweb says:

    Wow! I hope you have a great time. I love the pictures.

    Like

  8. mistermuse says:

    The mystery photo is a mystery in more ways than one. The ships in the distance look like they may be war ships — especially if it’s an old photo, which it’s hard to tell. I was going to guess Atlantic City, but the people on the pier look to be dressed for un-summer-like weather, which seems out of place for a relatively large number of people to be there on a chilly day….and the swans only add to the mystery! Anyway, since I don’t have a better guess, I’ll stick with Atlantic City.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great! Atlantic City is a place I haven’t been so I can’t verify the similarites. However, I can say that it is not in the American continent. Would you care to have another guess, Mistermuse?

      Like

Comments are closed.