Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Gydnia

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I encourage you to leave a comment,* if you think you might know where this week’s photograph, shown above, kindly submitted by Peggy from ‘Where to Next? ‘, is located.

mmp-feb-6

Mystery Location – Do you know it?

If you guess the location correctly, I will link back to your blog when the answer will be revealed the following week. New guest submissions of Monday Mystery Photos are very welcome. Drop me an email if you would like to submit a photography to my Monday Mystery Photo feature.

 

Last week Pooja from Stories from Europe set us a tricky task to determine just where the above pier was located. Pooja tells us that this photo “is taken on a beach in Gdynia, which overlooks a wooden pier on Baltic Sea. Gdynia is a part of three cities which form Gdansk greater region in the Northern part of Poland.”

There was some really wonderful guesses last week, but we were all stumped. The good thing about this photos, is that we know that there are many piers like this is various parts of the world, to further investigate, if we wish.

Many thanks Pooja, for being so kind to submit your lovely photo. Pooja has a few more intriguing photos from different locations, that I look forward to posting, in coming weeks.

Monday Mystery

Monday Mystery Photo* always gives us Something to Ponder About

Comments on MMP, will be released on Friday, (AEST), to allow everyone in different time zones to have a chance, to guess the location, without peeking at the posted comments!

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Gydnia

  1. ledrakenoir says:

    Gdynia oh yes so that’s the reason why I been sleepless all week
    – while wondering where in UK this was located… 😀 😀 😀

    So many over there… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    My guess would be from the beautiful Saint Sebastian, the cathedral of Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.?

    Like

  3. Tara says:

    This looks amazing! I’m having a complete guess with Dubai 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    Last week’s photo is interesting, and I’d never have guessed where it was. The only comment i can make, now that you’ve revealed the answer, is that the Baltic Sea and the swans make sense. I’ve always thought of swans as fresh water birds because of the algae they eat etc. and salt water didn’t fit with that (Of course, there may well be salt-water swans that I don’t know about!) But the Baltic is mostly brackish water fresher the further away it gets from the open ocean.
    Sorry for burbling on, but I just wondered.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No Millie. Blab on. It is certainly a good point that might have helped me and others determine the location if we had thought about it more. You are so clever !! Good luck with this week.

      Like

  5. milliethom says:

    I’m afraid I’ve no idea what this week’s photo shows. It looks like the inside of some kind of tower to me at the moment, although I can’t make out whether the many lights behind the central, colourful column are windows.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh gosh the pier could have looked like it was in the UK and that would had been where we would have guessed (which we didn’t)…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Taking a chance: church in Brasilia Santuario Dom Bosco

    Like

  8. Hi Amanda. I just noticed the guesses on my photo from last week and they were all interesting! I doubt I’d have guessed the place correctly if I were to.
    Ah this week’s photo looks quite difficult too.. but considering how tall the building looks (I hope it is a skyscraper? Or maybe it’s something else, but I see an art maybe a part of light/art show on the facade of a tall building), I’d say it’s from one of the big cities in the US. Cannot say exactly where.. but could be the US. That’s my guess 🙂 Very vague but I want to take part anyway 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Pooja! You did provide us with a great challenge last week. But there were clues there, such as the swans to help detect the pier fronted the Baltic Sea! So US is your guess this week. I have noted your answer. thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. teotuca says:

    Great post, I like it! Greetings from Romania!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.