Monday Mystery Photo – Last week – Rio

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. This week’s photo was very kindly submitted by a new follower of Something to Ponder About, named Jane, from Sustayable Me.

Thanks ever so much for sending in the great photograph, Jane!

Does this scene look familiar? Do you know where it might be located?

mmp13th-feb1

I encourage you to leave a comment if you think you might know where the photograph is located.  *If you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog when the answer is revealed, the following week.

*N.B. If your comment/guess isn’t showing immediately, it is because comments are released on the following Friday, of the week the MMphoto, is posted. That way, everyone gets a chance, without peeking at any of the answers.

New guest submissions, of Monday Mystery Photos, are very welcome. Drop me an email if you would like to submit a photograph to my Monday Mystery Photo feature. You will find my email by hovering over my gravatar and clicking on Complete Profile.

Last Week’s Photo

Last week’s photo was kindly submitted by Peggy from ‘Where to Next? and was correctly guessed by Drake from Ledrakenoir.

mmp-feb-6

Peggy elucidates about this beautiful structure:

“… one of four massive stained glass windows in the Metropolitan Cathedral of San Sebastian in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The cathedral was designed by Edgar Fonseca and resembles the Mayan architectural style of pyramids. Construction began in 1964 and was completed in 1979.

The cathedral can seat 5000 and has standing room for 20,000. The windows are 64 metres (210 feet) tall.”

Thanks, Peggy! It really is a stunning building!

Monday Mystery

Save

Save

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week – Rio

  1. leggypeggy says:

    I’m stumped. Was thinking it might be Quito or La Paz, but maybe somewhere in Italy?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Amanda. I wasn’t anywhere even close last week 😀 This week’s picture also looks very difficult to identify but I really feel it’s somewhere in Europe.. I feel like it’s somewhere in Italy.. but it could also be somewhere in France or Spain.. Hard to say! I will be keeping an eye on this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lina says:

    Looks like a place with a famous wall..so confusing

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.