Monday Mystery Photo – Last week South Africa

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. This week’s photo was very kindly submitted by Pooja from Stories from Europe.

Does this scene look familiar? Do you know where it might be located?

pooja4

Please do leave a comment if you think you know where the photograph is located and if you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog, when the answer is revealed the following week.

*N.B. If your comment/guess isn’t showing immediately, it is because comments are released on the following Thursday or Friday, of the week the Monday Mystery photo, is posted. That way, everyone gets a chance to guess, without peeking at any of the previous guesses.

New guest submissions of Monday Mystery Photos, are very welcome. Drop me an email, if you would like to submit a photograph, to Monday Mystery Photo. You will find my email by hovering over my gravatar and clicking on ‘Complete Profile.’

Last Week’s MMP

The guesses ranged from Italy to France, and even Australia, but the actual location of last week’s mystery photo was the road across the Hartebeespoort Dam wall, which is situated in North West Province, South Africa, 35 kilometres west of Pretoria/Tshwane.

ineke01

Millie Thom, a frequent reader of Ineke’s blog, guessed correctly the country location. Good guessing, Millie!

Ineke whose blog you will find here, tells me that she grew up about 15 kilometres from the dam and says that today, it is totally different, but the road across the dam wall and through the tunnel remains the same.   Read more here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hartbeespoort_Dam

Thanks so much Ineke, you gave us Something different to Ponder About

Monday Mystery

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week South Africa

  1. tidiousted says:

    I,m well over average interested in tea so I have i have visited tea plantations both in India, on Sri Lanka and in Africa. This picture reminds me of northern Indian high country si that will have to be my guess. May be the Assam Province or close to it 🙂

    Like

  2. milliethom says:

    I’m glad to have got last week’s right, although, as you said, I do read many of Ineke’s posts. I can’t say I’ve seen her post any photos of South Africa, though.
    This week’s photo isn’t shouting out any clues to me right now, From the type of trees and house roofs it doesn’t look like a particularly hot place, so perhaps it’s Northern or Eastern Europe somewhere. (Just my musings, at the moment, Amanda!) The white-painted buildings and coloured roofs, as well as the mountains, should say something to me, but they’re being rather stubborn at the moment. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.