Travel theme: Paths

Walking is something most of us do, and we take it for granted. Our feet take us along paths of life, paths of careers, family and nature.

Come walking with me along my the paths of my travels in this fascinating planet:

 

Vejen, Denmark

Kicking the leaves in country Denmark

 

Paths can take you to new discoveries, and invite you to experience a sensory adventure. They instill a feeling of anticipation, or mystery, of what lies beyond.

Family 2013 274

Boardwalk in Australia

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 A Secret Garden, Australia

A path might lead to a place where each of us will imagine something different, based on on own microcosmic experiences.

Sunshine Coast

Pandanas Palms shelter the stairs to the Beaches of the Sunshine Coast

Family 2013 080

A stairway to where?

As a child, I was completely fascinated with spiral staircases. Not often seen in Australia, they are subject to strict building regulations but regulations have no impact on a child’s imagination.

Iceland

Path to the Magical Blue Lagoon in Iceland

This was a path I will never forget – a special memory for me and my daughter. A wintry swim in the geothermal waters.

Europe 2011second batch 408

You never know how you might meet on the path in Austria

Site of the ancient fortress

A path to Else’s house and Viking history in Norway

Do you have a favourite walking path? Is it near of far from home?

Others share their path at Where’s My Backpack.

 

 

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Travel theme: Paths

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    This reminds us of our view: that we all chart our own paths, nevermind what others say, nevermind how others judge. We all run our own race in the journey called life. And the paths we carve out are ours alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lovely words, Mel & Suan. And really it is the only way to be, to be yourself! However, we always have to cognizant of others whilst in our own individual mindset. But you are right, our life is our own destiny, no matter what. To paraphrase Forest Gump a little: Life is like a box of chocolates, (or a hidden path), you never know where it will lead you! Thanks for taking the time to comment. Where is your next travel path (destination)?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mel & Suan says:

      At this time, we are taking a break from traveling…lol. But we’d sure like to get to Petra before summer!

      Like

  2. I have always wanted to visit the Blue Lagoon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a fantastic place Joseph! I visited at night in winter, which make it extra special. Can you imagine being in a warm pool surrounded by lava rocks draped in snow and misty fog hovering about the water! Incredible experience. I don’t think the daytime would have been half as fun! Are you planning a trip to Iceland soon?

      Like

  3. nowathome says:

    Great path! Would love to take the Path to the Magical Blue Lagoon in Iceland.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kzmcb says:

    We have something in common – I, too, like paths and photograph them, for all the reasons you outline. I love your posted ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A daily walk is important to us as is eating and breathing. We almost feel sick when we miss a daily walk.

    Like

  6. DailyMusings says:

    love all your paths- especially the leaf covered ground

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Susie says:

    Such a good theme! Loved seeing all the different types of paths next to each other. I am too often distracted by the scenery but should take pictures of my paths more often.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love that first shot. My current favorite path is the running path near my home. I just love having it so close by.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. reocochran says:

    I like to hike in a place called Highbanks Park. There is an amazing overlook deck and it is about a 2 mile hike there and back to parking lot. There is a five mile loop which takes you up and down.
    I found my hikes in Kentucky and West Virginia were my favorites!
    I loved your beautiful and diverse scenery along the paths you displayed. 🙂

    Like

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

