Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Peru

MMPMar20

Where is this tranquil scene located?

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I invite you to leave a comment if you think you know the location of this week’s photograph, (posted above). If you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog when the answer is revealed the following week.

*N.B. If your comment/guess isn’t showing immediately, it is because comments are released on the following Thursday or Friday of the week the Monday Mystery photo, is posted. That way, everyone gets a chance to guess, without peeking at any of the previous guesses.

New guest submissions of Monday Mystery Photos, are very welcome. Drop me an email, if you would like to submit one of your travel photos, to Monday Mystery Photo. You will find my email by hovering over my gravatar and clicking on ‘Complete Profile.’

mmppeggysp2

 

Last week’s mystery photo, seen above, was very kindly submitted by Peggy from the blog, Where to Next? and I posted a supplementary photo of the same location from a different angle. Despite some awesome guesses from various locations around the world, ranging from Turkey to Spain and even California, no one was able to guess the location! What a relatively less-traveled place Peru must be!!

Peggy tells  us that these photos are one of the many walkways in the Monastery of Saint Catherine (Santa Catalina) in Arequipa, Peru. The monastery was built in 1579 and enlarged in the 17th century. It was founded by a rich widow, Maria de Guzman, and catered for the nuns of the Dominican Second Order. Families paid a dowry to have their daughters admitted. Today 20 nuns live in the northern part of the monastery and the rest is open to the public.

 

Good luck with this week’s photo. I hope it’s Something to Ponder About

pinterest logo

Follow me on Pinterest and Twitter

 

twitter-white-icon

Save

Save

Save

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Peru

  1. I was initially disappointed in myself that I didn’t know this one if it was in Peru but the details revealed it was somewhere in Peru I didn’t go so that’s okay then. For this week, I’m guessing Austria. I don’t know where in Austria but that’s my nearest guess.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. leggypeggy says:

    Surprised that no one recognised the convent, especially with the second pic of the courtyard and its distinctive paint job. Clearly I need to share more about Peru on my blog. I’ll guess today’s scene in a separate comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Peggy. I guess my readers aren’t that familiar with Peruvian sightseeing and it is also new to me. It was definitely worth sharing though, if not only so that it increases global awareness of what Peru has to offer the traveller. I look forward to reading more about Peru on your blog. Thanks for being so kind as to share the photos.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. leggypeggy says:

    Based on the elements in the pic, I’d have to guess Switzerland or Austria.

    Like

  4. Tara says:

    I’m going for Norway 🙂

    Like

  5. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh that red flag suggests Switzerland, but wonder which part…heheh. Have to think about it!

    Like

Comments are closed.