Monday Mystery Photo – Last time Venice

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I invite you to leave a comment*,  if you think you know the location of this week’s photograph, (posted above). If you guess correctly, I will link back to your blog, when the answer is revealed the following week.  Guest contributions to MMP are very welcome. Our guest photographer this week, comes again from Ineke in New Zealand, although it is not New Zealand in the Mystery photo.

So where is the following photograph located?

image

Last week, we were, as many had proposed, in Venice. There is no need for me to introduce Venice, I don’t think. It is without doubt, one of the most famous cities in Europe. A lesser known fact about Venice, is that the famous Venetian masks, worn particularly at ‘Carnevale’ time, (in the lead up to the religious observance of Lent), were first introduced as a protection against disease, and not a fun adornment, or disguise. The mask’s purpose, lies within its long beak-like proboscis, which resembles an avian beak that could be filled with perfume or other sweet-smelling items, which were thought, by some 17th century physicians, to prevent disease, particularly the plague.

Although I have not been to Venice, I am not at all surprised to find that many people have or at least recognize its images as indicated by our list of winners:

I scrap 2

Oosterman Treats Blog

LeDrakeNoir

Where to Next?

Ines from imonnetphoto

Travelling Matters

Thesnowmeltssomewhere

Well done!

https://forestwoodfolkart.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/monday-mystery.jpg?w=640

 

Save

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last time Venice

  1. It has an Australian feeling about it. The architectural chaos. I think it might even be Sydney.

    Like

  2. Very nice post.Beautiful post of monday.. Love your blog as usual.
    John Pellow Brisbane

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh this is a tough one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. leggypeggy says:

    Whew, so it was Venice! I really was expecting you to come up with some obscure canal town. Thanks for the info about the masks. As for today’s pic—no idea, not even a decent guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ines says:

    Though one! Even with the hint you gave in the comments. It could be somewhere in the U.S. or Spain… We also have palm trees here in Switzerland 😉 I’ll pass this one and I’m very curious to see the answer on Monday.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.