Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Zimbabwe

Monday Mystery Photo for this Week:

MMPjune5

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object, such as the photograph this week, which has been kindly submitted by the blogger, TheSnowMeltsSomewhere. Do you know what it could be?

I invite you to leave a comment*  if you think you know the location of this week’s photograph, (posted above), or what it is. The following week, when the answer is revealed, I will link back to your blog, if you have guessed correctly.  Guest contributions to MMP are very welcome. Just flick me an email.


Last Week’s Photo:

 

wp-image-311842725.

 

Our guest photographer last week, was Ineke, in New Zealand, although it was not New Zealand in the Mystery photo. We had several guesses from all corners of the world. The biggest clue was the flowering trees in the photo: these were Jacaranda trees, and the location was, in fact, Buluwayo, the second largest city in Zimbabwe.

Wikipedia tells me that although the Jacaranda tree is native to Mexico:-

“It is regarded as an invasive species in parts of South Africa and Queensland, Australia, the latter of which has had problems with the Blue Jacaranda preventing growth of native species. Lusaka, the capital of Zambia, and Harare, the capital of Zimbabwe, also see the growth of many jacarandas.”

Many thanks to Ineke for a great Monday Mystery Photo. It is not often we are able to stump everyone! And thanks for introducing us to a little of Zimbabwe.

Monday Mystery Photo offers Something Fun to Ponder About

 

 

 

 

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last week Zimbabwe

  1. ledrakenoir says:

    This one is really difficult, so it may be a guess. Only visited Istanbul once. Namely may month 2005, the reason was the final Champions League match. Between my favorites Liverpool FC and italian AC Milan. Stayed in the city only from noon until a couple of hours after midnight. Spent some time before the match some places.of interest. One of them was Hagia Sophia – former greek orthodox christian patriarchal basilica, later an imperial mosque and now a museum. Unforgettable impressive experience, I think I saw at least something that reminds me a lot about this. But my memory could be hazy, even we drink anything but water and coffee before the match. After the LFC victory while waiting for the plane back to UK.? No comments. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Despite the pre-match restraint and possible intake of a celebratory drink or two, post-match, I would say your memory is so sharp as to remember small details like this!!!!. We shall see on Monday!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. leggypeggy says:

    I’m seeing a frescoed arch over windows. Where? No idea, but I’ll think about it.

    Like

  3. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh we gave up on the one last week. but for this one, could it be the Hagia Sophia in Istanbul?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is definitely not in Wagga Wagga. It could be Istanbul.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sorry that no one knew where the photo was taken. I’ll send you some from NZ next!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Love the artwork on the arch. Looks like some kind of church somewhere. Not my usual haunt when I go traveling. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. milliethom says:

    I’m afraid I wouldn’t have guessed Zimbabwe, either, although I’d have guessed it could be somewhere in South Africa as the photo came from Ineke.
    With this week’s photo, I really can’t remember where it is right now, although I’ve a feeling I saw it some time ago on thesnowmeltssomewhere’s blog. I seem to remember commenting on it! (But that could just be my befuddled memory!)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My gosh, I’m so impressed by some of these answers! 🙂 I definitely wouldn’t have known if I hadn’t taken the pic myself! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

