Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Rjukan, Norway

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I invite you to leave a comment, if you think you know the location of this week’s photograph. Please note that I will release comments in the latter part of each week, usually Thursday or Friday and in this way, everyone can have a guess without a spoiler being revealed.

If you guess the correct location, I will link back to your blog when the answer is revealed the following Monday.

Guest contributions to MMP are very welcome. Please flick me an email if you have a photo to submit.

This week’s photo is shown below. Can you guess the location?

MMP 2014It

Do you know what this is and where it is located?


Last Week’s Monday Mystery Photograph

vesttorry

Last week’s photograph was correctly identified by Tidious Ted from the wonderful WordPress cooking blog, Recipe Reminiscing.  As the MMP was located in Ted’s native country of Norway, I will leave it to him to tell us more about the location:

“As I’ve lived 11 years in Telemark and had customers all over the county this week’s mystery photo is so easy for my that I almost feel ashamed answering at all. The photo is from Rjukan in Telemark, Norway and the huge building in the back is Norway’s national industry museum. It was once Norway’s largest power station and the place where three movies about the the action preventing the Nazis getting hold of the deuteriumoksid (heavy water) produced there during WWII were filmed. Older people may still remember “Heros of Telemark” filmed in 1965 with Kirk Douglas and Richard Harris in lead parts. A Norwegian film about the action “Kampen om tungtvannet” was made in 1848 and a recent movie about the same action was made just a few years ago.” – Tidious Ted

Thanks so much for all that wonderful information, Ted. Here is a youtube clip of a modern day team re-creating the heroic action of the men that stalled the Nazi’s atomic bomb program in WWII.

TheSnowmeltsSomewhere also very cleverly recognized that last week’s location as Norway, even though she didn’t recognize the museum building!! Incredibly astute SnowMS!

!Monday Mystery

Monday Mystery Photo leaves you with Something to Ponder About

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last Week Rjukan, Norway

  1. Mel & Suan says:

    Heheh…again we used that google picture search to identify this torrei in Verona! You can exclude us from the list of “winners”!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. leggypeggy says:

    Today’s pic looks sort of familiar. Let me think about it. Would never have guessed Norway.

    Like

  3. tidiousted says:

    i’m afraid I don’t l know as much about this place as I did about the one on your last mystery picture, but my guess would be Verona 😉

    Like

  4. ledrakenoir says:

    Verona in northeastern Italy, by the way their flag is similar to the swedish. 🙂

    Like

  5. My guess for this week is Venice or Florence but I go for Venice.

    Like

  6. sewtonya says:

    This is a cool and fun idea! With that being said I have no clue where this picture is from haha But I can’t wait to find out!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a great idea. 👍🏼
    I’m guessing somewhere in northern Italy???

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Amanda. This week I’ll guess the photo is somewhere from Italy 🙂

    Like

  9. restlessjo says:

    I’ve looked long and hard and don’t think I know the city, though it is of course in Italy. I have to make a guess and it could conceivably be Pisa but I don’t think so. Better luck next time, hey? 🙂 Hope you’re having a good week.

    Like

  10. Ines says:

    It’s in Italy for sure – but not in a city I visited before. I would remember that tower 😉 I can’t wait to know the exact location!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.