Monday Mystery Photo – Last time Verona

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I invite you to leave a comment, if you think you know the location of this week’s photograph. Please note that I will release comments in the latter part of each week, usually Thursday or Friday and in this way, everyone can have a guess without a spoiler being revealed.

If you guess the correct location, I will link back to your blog when the answer is revealed the following Monday.

Guest contributions to MMP are very welcome. Please flick me an email if you have a photo to submit.

This week’s guest contributor is Marion from Figments of a DuTchess.  Welcome ‘aboard’ Marion, and many thanks for submitting a great photo to Monday Mystery.

wp-image-841343689

Can you guess the location of this week’s photo?

Last Week’s Monday Mystery Photograph

Last week we were in Italy, at the popular summertime holiday destination of Verona. The MMP featured the frescoed Mazzanti houses and the Piazza delle Erbe

MMP 2014It

Piazza delle Erbe is occupied by an ancient town hall, the Torre dei Lamberti, the Casa dei Giudici (“Judges’ Hall”) and the frescoed Mazzanti Houses. There is also a fabulous Baroque building with statues of Greek Gods. The oldest feature of the square is the Roman statue atop the fountain dating from 380 AD.

IMG_1193

A lot of readers knew that last week’s photo was located in Italy and a few were sure it was in Northern Italy. Gerard was oh so close but the winners were:

Drake – MMP Champ!!

Recipe Reminiscing – Ted –  for a guess – you were spot on, Ted

and Mel & Suan (who had extraordinary help!! Tee hee!!)

A Mindful Traveller also knew it was in Northern Italy, but thought it may have been Bologna;

Gerard pondered on Florence or Venice;

Restless Jo considered whether it may have been in Pisa and

Pooja from Stories from Europe and Ines from Immonnet were definite that it was located in Italy.

 

Excellent effort, everyone!  If I hadn’t been there myself, I would not have had a clue where last week’s photo was located.

Have you been there? What was your favourite part/least favourite thing?

At times a real Monday Mystery to Ponder About

Monday Mystery

 

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – Last time Verona

  1. Tara says:

    What a building! It looks vaguely familiar but that’s it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ledrakenoir says:

    Believe it is the very old City Hall of Leuven, in the flemish part of Belgium located next to the main market square. By the way this city has (as I know) the world oldest catholic university which still existence. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mel & Suan says:

    Oh man….we are so ashamed to cheat…this google search thing is making it easy to find Leeuven’s town hall!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tidiousted says:

    I didn’t have to guess this time. I was at a calligraphy workshop down there a few years ago. The building is the Town Hall in Leuven in Belgium. Hard to forget, it looks like an enormous cream cake 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know it’s in Belgium but only because of the flags. I don’t really recognise it so I don’t think it’s in Brugge, the only place I’ve really been in Belgium (apart from landing in Ostend on the ferry and a brief stop in Brussels on the train).

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sewtonya says:

    I may start digging for a photo to send you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I reckon this beautiful church is located somewhere in Germany or France. If it is France, it could be somewhere in the German speaking part. Perhaps eastern France where the cognac is produced. Alas, I can’t name the city.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. leggypeggy says:

    We really need to pay some attention to Italy. It’s a big gap in our travels. Today’s image looks familiar. I’ll think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ahhh. Verona, of course 🙂 This week’s photo is tricky. I’m going to guess somewhere in France, but not definite.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What is your email Amanda? I would love to send you a photo.
    https://amindfultravellerblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  11. milliethom says:

    Ibelieve I’ve seen pictures of this building before, and I think it’s somewhere in Belgium. Which town, exactly, I’d have to look up. It’s a fantastic building, wherever it is! Beautiful architecture.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. milliethom says:

    I’ve just looked it up (so I hope that’s not cheating – if it is, you can disqualify me. 🙂 ) It’s in Leuven in Belgium, if the source I used is correct.

    Like

  13. milliethom says:

    I forgot to add that it’s the city/town hall. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. restlessjo says:

    Why didn’t I guess Verona? I was there once, many long years ago, and I have to say my memories are of heat and Juliet, a river and bridges. The specifics are vague. And I have no clue about this week, Amanda. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I also have memories of bridges, ancient amphitheatres, frescoes walls and Juliet!! Verona is a very old city. You can feel it in its bones!! Better luck guessing next week’s Jo! We all have different strengths in our memory banks!!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Hi Amanda! Happy to have found your blog! I love the layout, the style the content…everything! I’ve read some of your posts and I can’t wait to read more! Looking forward to following you 🙂

    Lisa | http://www.fromdreamtoplan.net/

    Liked by 1 person

  16. And thank you for sharing my photo in the Monday Mystery Challenge, Amanda. This is fun! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  17. egodiary.com says:

    Love Verona! I took my parents two years ago on a trip to N Italy and Verona was one of the stops. We spent only one day, but it was a lovely day.
    Here is my article about the trip, would love to have your support and follow also. Thank you:)
    https://egodiary.com/2017/03/20/travel-with-your-parents-a-trip-to-northern-italy-part-i/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I’ll check it out for sure. Verona is a wonderful city. I loved the el Fresco dining and Aperitivo culture where one can sit beside an Roman built amphitheatre from the 1st century AD and enjoy great food. And the city has such history. Special statues and a mix if modernity with designer shops too.

      Like

    • egodiary.com says:

      We got there at the end of November 2015, but we did not try any local food unfortunately. But however because Christmas was near, the markets were full with winter themed decorations and also winter products, some local, that we really enjoyed.
      I ll definitely have to go back and spend some more time there.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. That sounds lively too

    Like

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

