Monday Mystery Photo – last time Denmark

This Week’s Mystery Photograph

MMP July Aug 2017.jpg

Where could this be found? [Photo by Mia Hustad]

Each Monday, I post a mystery photo, or occasionally a mystery object. I invite you to leave a comment if you think you know the location of this week’s photograph. If you guess the correct location, I will link back to your blog when the answer is revealed the following Monday. Guest Submissions are very welcome!

Please note that I will release comments in the latter part of each week, usually Thursday or Friday and in this way, everyone can have a guess without a spoiler being revealed in the comments.

Last week’s Monday Mystery Photograph

mmp july17

Drake from LeDrakeNoir,

Gerard from Oosterman Treats,

Mel&Suan from Travelling Matters to Us,

guessed correctly that last time, Monday Mystery was in the wonderful land of Denmark.

The 32m long bridge, in Copenhagen, is based on the concept of a sailing ship was designed by the technological savvy, Olafur Eliasson; an artist who seeks to learn from, and blend, art with technology, rather than shy away from it. Here you can read about how he has created a functional solar lamp – the Little Sun, which can allow children to study in darkness, an adaptive art that appeals to me.

The wonderful Drake even supplied us with an extra link: http://www.dac.dk/en/dac-life/copenhagen-x-galleri/cases/cirkelbroen-circle-bridge/

Thank you, Drake!

Eliasson states, “We have an economy that seems to have lost total track of the need to know why before you focus on how. What I’m afraid of is that there’s a kind of obsessive focus on how to spread news or artworks, but very little focus on the content. There are no processes. I don’t have the answer, but I’m curious about what applications, what tools, what skills will guide and amplify.”

Monday Mystery

Will you guess this week’s photograph? It is something different to ponder about

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Monday Mystery Photo – last time Denmark

  1. Somewhere in the sierras in Spain?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tidiousted says:

    This took some time to dig out of my memory, I had to rummage through old holiday photos before i got it. It is Our Lady of Villaverde at Málaga. I was there about ten years ago 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. leggypeggy says:

    Thinking it’s Spanish or South American. How’s that for narrowing it down. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mel & Suan says:

    Ok this one is tough. Spain (or Portugual) would have been our guess from the architecture but with the background this seems to be in South America. Or Perhaps Mexico?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. It’s Mendoza in Argentina. I remember it well. We drank a lovely red with the best chicken dish ever, or should that be; we ate a lovely chicken dish and drank a nice bottle of red?

    Liked by 2 people

    • So, Argentina has great chicken dishes accompanied by red wine. Both must have been memorable, but can you trust your memory post red wine, Gerard? We shall find out on Monday, how good that red wine was!

      Like

  6. Not sure on this one Amanda. I’m guessing it’s in Italy somewhere…???

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ledrakenoir says:

    North northwest of Malaga, close to the famous hiker dream “The small royal path”. Visited the area in the very late 1990s. The path was closed soon after (not my faul) because it was too dangerous. Have heard the path is open again. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Hi Amanda. I was so close last week! 🙂 I think it’s Greece this week. I love that landscape!
    I had a great weekend in Wroclaw. Also took the time to go to the site of your photo from a couple weeks ago here on MMP. 😀 I loved the old town, one of the best in Poland easily. I hope you had a nice weekend too!

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Sorry, I don’t know where this is, but I agree with leggypeggy that it looks Spanish, whether in Spain or South America. I loved the Drake circle bridge in Denmark!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I have noted your answer and am glad you liked the Circle bridge, SundaysinSeattle and Drake would be flattered that you thought it was connected to him, in some way. Well he is Danish, and you guessed the answer, so you were right in a way!! Many thanks for your answer!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. SmilaZ says:

    it looks like somewhere between central europe and easter europe. Could be Germany, Austria, Czech Republic and many other places where they built like that and have landscapes like that.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you so much SmilaZ for your comment and welcome to Monday Mystery Photo. I have noted your answer – you sure have covered a large area with your guess. However, I am very happy that you participated. You could be right! We will find out on Monday, when the answer is revealed. I would love for you to submit a photo sometime, if you would like to do so?

      Like

  11. restlessjo says:

    Loved last week’s photo, Amanda. What well-travelled visitors you have. I was inclined to say Greece but thinking about it this does have a Hispanic look. Never been there so can’t be sure. 🙂 🙂 Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Seenorway says:

    It most certainly doesn’t look very Danish? But perhaps you stopped some where enroute to Danmark? I’d place this nature with it’s church (?) somewhere in Greece or may be in Spain?
    A bit more Greek I think? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Two options noted SeNorge!! I will cross my fingers for you. The answer will be revealed on Monday in the next Monday Mystery Photo post. Thanks for participating!!

      Like

  13. Julie says:

    I would say somewhere in South America too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • South America noted, Julie! Thanks so much for participating! I will reveal the correct answer next Monday in the post with the new Monday Mystery Photo!! Good luck!!!

      Like

    • @ coloniaist – I have noted your answer. The correct location will be revealed next Monday in the new Monday Mystery Post. Good luck and many thanks for participating.

      Like

  14. oldpoet56 says:

    Very nice article ma’am.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hm. Looks like Southern Spain. I was working as an au pair in London many (many!!) years ago and the family went on holiday to Marbella on the Costa del Sol. While the wife just wanted to sit by the pool, the husband was more interested in seeing places and was thrilled to have a young Aussie traveller to keep him company. We would take off into the hills in a car, leaving behind what I saw as the Spanish equivalent of the Queensland Gold Coast to see the ‘real’ Spain. I don’t remember this place itself but it reminds me so strongly of the area.

    Liked by 2 people

    • We shall see how good your memory is. Sounds like it was a great trip and lovely that you got to travel whilst working! The wife sounded like she wanted a relaxing holiday whilst hubby was a go see do kind of guy!! Lucky he had a Au pair to assist. Did you have to take the children sightseeing too?

      Liked by 1 person

    • No, the girls just wanted to swim. That was such a great trip. All I had to do was clean the apartment in the morning, give the girls a maths lesson at 5pm and babysit in the evening if required. The rest of the time was my own. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Easy money and plenty of time for sightseeing!!

      Like

Comments are closed.