Northern Lights in Lapland’s Lake Inari

An amazing experience. The Northern Lights.
Truly something I want to ponder some more about.

Travel-Stained

There’s not much to Inari, Finland, except a lake, a few hotels and the chance to see the northern lights.

And that’s how we find ourselves lying atop frozen Lake Inari, staring up at the sky in -27 degree weather. I’m wearing 2 layers of Uniqlo heattech pants plus snow pants, a heattech shirt, wool sweater and goose down jacket, along with furry Russian style hat, a mask to cover the rest of my face, 2 pairs of socks and insulated winter boots.

It’s not enough.

Within 20 minutes, I start to feel the cold creeping through all my protective layers, whispering at my skin, like a ghost. I ignore it. I’m here to see the northern lights, dammit, and see them I will.

We walk as far to the other side of the lake as we can, in an attempt to get away from the hotel lights that pollute…

View original post 307 more words

About Forestwoodfolk

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Community. Bookmark the permalink.