Community, History & Traditions

Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures.

They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

If you light a path for somebody, it will also brighten your path –

Chinese Proverb

It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare, it is because we do not dare that things are difficult –

Seneca Indian

and a final thought from Buddha to ponder about, this Thursday –

prov thurs9

6 thoughts on “Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World”

  1. What a great idea. I find sayings and proverbs really uplifting. I often like reading them when I am feeling fed up! I love the chinese proverb about ‘not daring that is difficult; that resonates hugely with me – particularly at the moment as the last year has seen me be more brave in my choices and reaping the rewards! 🙂

    Like

    1. You are so right about the uplifting nature of proverbs. There is also some really great tongue in cheek humour in some of them. All in all, they are gems. If you have any you wish to contribute to my weekly feature, I would be glad to have them. [and credit you, as source, of course!] Thanks for visiting me.

      Like

Comments are closed.