Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives, lived and lessons, learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something. Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote, that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

Proverbial sml

“A brave man seldom is hurt in the back.”

Bosnian Proverb  

“If we are ready to tear down the walls that confine us, break the cage that imprisons us, we will discover what our wings are for.”

– Michael Meegan

I hope Proverbial Thursday gives you something to ponder about

About Forestwoodfolkart

Scandinavian culture, literature and traditions are close to my heart, even though I am Australian. I have Scandinavian, Frisian and Prussian/Silesian ancestry and for that reason, I feel a connection with that part of the world. I am an avid Nordic Crime fiction reader, and enjoy photography, writing and a variety of cooking and crafts, and traditional decorative art forms. Politically aware and egalitarian by nature, I have a strong environmental bent.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs and Sayings from around the World

  1. The walls, the cage, the wings…if only we could break the cycle of hatred and soar to the heavens above…if only we understood how each of us deserves the right to be heard, respected. We do not have to agree with one another, all we need is to respect our differences, crush the walls, break the bars and lift one another in the unity of unconditional love. If only…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mabel Kwong says:

    Two thought provoking proverbs this week. First one: a brave man is always focused on soldering on, always focused on what needs to be done. Perhaps those of us who are not afraid to try are always this way and if anything goes wrong, it’s not in our nature to let that frustrate us. I suppose the only time then we feel hurt is when we’ve exhausted ourselves.

    Second quote: Wings are a testament of how strong we are, of what we are really capable off. When we go for something and risk it all, then we truly know what we are capable of.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for these beautiful and profound proverbs. Something to think deeply about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    I think that both of these proverbs are very true. The first is about facing up to things, head-on, which means we’ll encounter problems as we go instead of them ‘sneaking up’ on us and taking us by surprise.
    The second one speaks to me of achieving our potential. We’ll never know how good we are, or how successful we can be, unless we give it our very best shot.

    Like

    • Interesting interpretation on the first proverb, Millie. The meaning of being prepared, is an angle I did not think of initially , yet I can see this, in this proverb. I totally agree that the second relates to our individual potential. Thanks for your comments.

      Liked by 1 person

    • milliethom says:

      You’re welcome, Amanda. Sorry I was late getting to these posts. As you know, i was in Malta, then just got totally behind with everything! Playing catch up is hard work. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.