blogging, Food, Travel

A Food Tour in Japan

I have been offline, for a month or so, on a Japanese adventure.

When an old friend suggested I attend a food tour whilst visiting one of Japan’s largest cities, I didn’t need to accept. Thanks to a family member, who has been to Japan no less than five times, I was treated to a culinary tour of authentic Japanese meals.

Most people are familiar with Udon or Ramen – the main stay foods in Japanese cuisine, with regional variations.

Stir Fry Dishes in Japan

A regular favourite was a stir-fry with Chicken, Lotus Root and Vegetables in Black Vinegar Sauce featuring high in Hiroshima and Tokyo restaurants. I was delighted to enjoy the Lotus Root, for the first time. I liked its satisfying texture and its taste that promised an aubergine-like flavour, minus the alkalinity. Adding to the appeal, I discovered that Black Vinegar Sauce has a variety of benefits – including weight loss!

“the warming nature of black vinegar can help improve overall blood flow and circulation as well as counteract high blood pressure. ….for disinfecting cuts, insect bites or as a skin dressing. Black vinegar has few calories and if you want to lose weight, consume one to three teaspoons of vinegar daily. This vinegar maintains the health of the immune system, is anti-inflammatory, and helps to improve the body’s metabolism. It contains considerably higher amounts of amino acids, polyphenols, trace minerals, and organic acids than other vinegars including balsamic and ACV.” [ww.livestrong.com/article/280498-what-are-the-benefits-of-black-vinegar/]

And lose weight I did – although I am confident that walking over 15 km each day certainly played a key role. One that was potentially more significant than Black Vinegar sauce.

Robot Wait Staff in Japan

Bettybot needed to do perform some hijinks around the lineup at the payment counter at the front of the store, to avoid clashing with the queue of customers. Amusing to watch… arigato gozaimashita, her only response.

The real adventure in Japanese cuisine is not always found in a restaurant, where your meal may be served to you by a robot, but on the street with a plethora of food choices, small family businesses with just a handful of chairs, and also, surprisingly, in the convenience stores [gasp].

Japanese Convenience Store Food

The food in the convenience stores – i.e. Lawson, Family Mart, Seven-11 and Seicomart, is ridiculously above average. The range, quality, freshness and price stand-out from the crowd. From sandwiches to Sashimi, from Ramen eggs to ice cream or pancakes, the convenience stores have it all, even alcoholic drinks.

The stores also offer foreigner-friendly ATMs, public toilets, free charging points, and somewhere to sit and eat – (which is not so easy to find with a massive population and extremely limited street seating/green spaces). Plus, culturally it is considered rude to eat while you are walking around the streets. In this case seek out one of the convenience stores, (such as Hot Chef in Hokkaido), that stock free wet wipes and hot water plus a range of tasty, very fresh affordable food.

I will talk more about Convenience food in another post. [There is lots to discuss].

But first, the iconic Japanese food – Ramen

Ramen

It is the soup broth that the Ramen soaks in that makes the Japanese ramen so tasty. Each restaurant and region has this individual way of making it and is essentially the store’s brand. Its a long process over several days to create the unique combination of pork, vegetables and seasonings that go into the soup.

It is truly delicious and you can watch the chefs prepare your meals. This is Ippudo, the Ramen from there is reputed to be the best. This Ramen restaurant is in Susukino Ramen Alley. We had to arrive early to secure a chair.

very filling ramen from ramen alley in susukino, sapporo, japan

Ramen Eggs

These come complimentary with certain meals. The eggs are marinated in soy sauce. A tip – ordering a soft poached egg as a side dish in a restaurant does not mean it will be hot. More likely it will be served COLD. I found that challenging to eat.

Besides Ramen, there are other marvellously unique foods I tried that I will talk about in coming posts. They include:

  1. Takoyaki – Fried Octopus Balls
  2. King, Snow and Hairy Crab – from Siberian waters
  3. Red bean Pancakes
  4. Algae
  5. Pumpkin ice cream and Sakura (cherry blossom) soft serve
  6. Unagi – (Freshwater eel)
  7. Katsuobushi / Bonito flakes
  8. Gyudon
  9. Katsugen and Hokkaido dairy
  10. Mushroom biscuits (cookies)

And for those who are partial to vanilla or Napoleon slices, check this custard pastry variant out:

stpa logo

87 thoughts on “A Food Tour in Japan”

    1. I feel so fortunate to have had my in house tour guide. I have him to thank for seeing and experiencing so much. I doubt a food tour could have done better. So when are you booking your ticket there, Sheree?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I went in 2007 and was fortunate to be guided by two Japanese who worked in the hospitality business in Tokyo but I’m keen to go back and see more of Japan.

        Like

  1. Oh, lucky you! I would love to visit Japan. I get in a terrible mess eating ramen and the like, but I don’t suppose the robot would mind. Never heard of black vinegar, but it sounds promising, Amanda. What a different world!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sure is a different world, Jo, but a very orderly one, especially given the population. I found eating the ramen and udon messy and I was wiping my mouth frequently. With these teeny tiny little napkins. Hopelessly inadequate for the job at hand! You really should visit Japan. I feel sure this is the year for it. So many Aussies are headed there due to discounted fares. This trip was planned a year or so ago, yet we did the bookings just three weeks prior to departure.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is a long trip – for me too, and my husband refuses to travel. I do understand not wanting to travel alone. I feel like I am now a bit too old to manage everything on my own. The world is a lot more complicated.

        Like

      1. Its source lies in that small group from which I was introduced to it. But also, I’m not a fish person nor a seaweed person. It’s a shame, because the tempura way of cooking vegies is sublime.

        Like

      2. There is a lot of seafood in Japanese cuisine, MR so I can understand that. But there is also a lot of beef and pork and chicken which might also be an issue for you, and of course, lots of vegetables. As for the seaweed, for me it depends on how it is prepared. I am sure you would find some delights over there to eat.

        Like

  2. How wonderful! So many choices and such a great way to sample a large array of different dishes. Japan has a great rap as a foodie and cultural destination. Enjoy!!!

    Like

    1. I thoroughly recommend Japan as a foodie and cultural destination. There is much to see and much to experience and every night you can try something really different to eat. So affordable to all. Thanks for your comment, Miriam. Good to hear from you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yum!! I love ramen egg but I do prefer if they sit and submerge in the broth to heat up. Lotus root has such a nice texture. You might be able to find them frozen (whole or sliced) in an asian supermarket like I can find here. I’ve heard the same with black vinegar sauce and actually dip my dumplings into black vinegar and not soy sauce. Looking forward to the other foods, particularly the crab! I wonder how you had it- I’ll wait for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The crab – was incredible, Sophie! I am so glad you know what I mean about the lotus root. I really liked it and did look for it in Hanaromart last week. How else can you eat it besides stir-fry?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. That is it. I am buying some from Hanaromart. It was frozen in a bag so I should be able to just use what I want and re-seal frozen til the next time I need it.

        Like

      1. Just Honshu, and a bit of a whistle-stop tour at that. It was intended as an introduction but we’ve not been back. The distance is off-putting, apart from any other considerations, but maybe one day.

        Like

      2. The flight time is only a little more than Mexico but the time difference greater and I struggled with jetlag in Tokyo more than any other place I’ve been to date!

        Like

      3. Ah yes, the time difference. It is huge and worse flying eastward or backwards in time. Which is probably one of the few advantages in living in Australia in terms of foreign travel. We get the jet lag once we have arrived home.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda, what a delightful culinary tour you’ve taken us on! I’ve enjoyed learning about the food and lots for a vegetarian as well, I notice! Betty Bot has me smiling but not sure this is the most efficient and friendliest manner of serving food! I bet you’re still ‘landing’ after your amazing trip! Annika

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You understand about still ‘landing’ Annika. It is all so fresh in my mind, and I need to write about while it is. So expect plenty of Japanese spam posts! How are things up your way? Any more trips to Sweden or beyond planned?

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I remember that sense of ‘landing’ taking weeks; the first time this happened was during an amazing trip to Antigua as young – a whole world of new experiences for me! I look forward to your Japan posts and a great way for you to relive your adventures.

        Yes, we are soon off to Sweden for six weeks which will be wonderful. Later in the year a big family wedding in Scotland so taking some time to explore there as well as a trip to Barcelona in Spain in September. It’s wonderful to be able to travel again, isn’t it?! 😀

        Like

      2. That is so very exciting, Annika. I had planned several other trips but then I have doggies that miss me and need to be catered for. Still hoping to get away for short period somehow later in the year.
        It is a wonderful time of the year to head to Sweden! Spring is arriving and the weather is warming. I have had two trips to Scandinavia in Spring. We had the best weather and the flowers bursting into bloom were fabulous to see. You mentioned a big Scottish wedding so I wonder if it is a traditional one, with kilts and bagpipes? Coincidentally, I am headed to a wedding here in a week or so, it a Thai – Australian wedding with a lady who has been living in Poland for years. So I expect a mix of cuisine.
        More Japanese recounts on the way soon.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It was an adventure and food was a big theme. Sightseeing by day, dinner out somewhere by night. Fun fun. More to come.
      As for Bettybot, I thought it was fun, but a friend reacted differently when she saw the video – saying she wouldn’t want that “thing” anywhere near her! Go figure.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Helen, I can’t wait to introduce you to more ‘delights.’ It really is a different way of eating, but my metabolism thanked me. I just have to make sure I don’t add back all those Australian pounds on my waistline, now I am home. I am wondering if you changed your diet or eating habits when you moved to France or to Costa Rica? Or simply added elements of traditional cuisine to your existing diet? I have been buying and adding new Japanese ingredients since I have been home.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never had ramen other than from little packets, incredibly salty, that you buy at the grocery. Yours looks much better. I don’t think I’d be onboard with cold soft poached eggs either. 

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I see that you understand about the cold eggs. Oddly, my finicky son gobbled them up! I do eat them with salads, but not mixed with a hot dish. Perhaps I should have tried it?

      I am guessing the shop-based ramen would have added salt for preservation. It would be hard to compare to the real, freshly made thing. As it is with a lot of food, the fresh version takes so much better.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Alejandro – you need to go to Japan! I think you would fall in love with the country. I really hope you do travel there – and soon!

      And I think you are right about traditional cuisines giving you a window in to the culture. It is also about how they serve you, the interactions at restaurants as well as the food elements.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. A great article about things that are very foreign to me! I have a much higher opinion of Ramen now. Your travel photos were wonderful, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nancy. I highly recommend the Ramen – from a good Japanese restaurant. The pork based broth takes days to prepare and each restaurant has their own recipe. Delicious.

      Like

  7. What an adventure! All my memories of food in Japan are fantastic. It was only a couple of years ago that I ‘discovered’ konbini food, and since then no trip in Japan is complete without having a meal or two at the konbini.

    Liked by 1 person

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.