blogging

Netherlands 1640 – the Museum Writing Challenge

The Netherlands: 1640

Ettie’s World

Mother would be cross if she knew.

Those in the room did not hear her. She was stealth. Years of practice at being invisible. But she need not have worried. A Servant’s child was never noticed.

It was early, yet her mother had risen hours ago, lighting fires, labouring in the laundry and helping the cook prepare breakfast.

Mother would be cross if she knew where she was.

Ettie’s curiosity beckoned her to the parlour with its elegance. A boastful room with velvet furnishings and heavy drapes like condescending sentinels. These were rooms in which she would never belong.

In her imaginings, Ettie’s life was more opulent than a future of servitude and dirty laundry.  It was a world where her stomach was full, where she wore fine dresses and lived in a affluent house with two parents who were both present and healthy. Where they were toys and laughter. A world of mere imaginings. Ettie was sure, in that world, she would wear pretty white bonnets, starched and stiff, shiny leather shoes, and would carry a stick wrapped in silk ribbons of pink and blue.

Mother would be cross if she knew where she was.

Ettie didn’t know what the ribboned stick signified. Nor had she ever worn shoes. Perhaps a princess had lost this shoe while dancing at a ball. The stick might belong to a wizard. For casting spells and magic that would bring a smile to her mother’s drawn and pale face and cure her pains.

Mother would be cross if she knew where she was.

Ettie had snuck into the parlour. She a peasant child with no father and no business among Persian rugs, fine china and ornate ornaments from distant lands. A place where the waft of tobacco lingered from time to time when he was home.

Ettie had heard stories about him, stories of a distinguished Seafaring Captain who was nearly eight foot tall. She knew when he would arrive – everyone rushed about in a frenzy – polishing silverware and scrubbing floors until they gleamed. The smell of Roast duckling cooking in the kitchen. Its aroma enticing, although Ettie had never eaten it.

Once, after the Captain had finished his dinner, she‘d been given the privilege of feeding his dog the juicy dinner scraps. Afterwards, Ettie had licked her fingers. The deliciousness had made her taste-buds tingle, tasting of sweet meat and orange.

Mother would be cross if she knew where she was.

Ettie is quiet, crouching in the corner near the hearth. Invisible. When the Captain summons the servants to clear away breakfast, she sees his face. His long beard, the smiley, green eyes. The same eyes. She knows green eyes are special because everyone tells her that, and she is the only one who has them.

The master reaches for his long smoking pipe, then pauses. He has seen her. Crouching in the corner. He says nothing. So she watches him, fingers entwined. He looks at Ettie when the servants have diverted the Mistress’ attention and a smile creeps into the corner of his mouth. It is the same smile he saves for her mother when he passes her in the hall.

Ettie had wondered why her mother never smiled back. Her eyes always downcast, avoiding, never meeting his – in deference, Ettie once supposed.

Now she isn’t so sure.

Whispers among the servants – the green-eyed Captain’s child.

Mother would be cross if she knew.

stpa logo

43 thoughts on “Netherlands 1640 – the Museum Writing Challenge”

  1. I love your story Amanda! I think it’s so clever how you created a personality for the little girl. She is a servant girl since her mother works as a servant in the big fine house. I imagine the girl helped her mother with cleaning and cooking. She’s looking at herself in the mirror as she imagines her other self. To me, she looks a tiny bit guilty of something, not very bad. The line you begin with sets the tone for the story and then you repeat it here and there as an explanation to readers why she’s in that room. Did you add the repetitive lines on purpose? This is a good writing technique here.

    You named her Ettie. That’s a lovely name. My grandmother was named Mary Etta. Ettie worries about her mother being upset but she’s lost in her imaginary world. When I first saw this painting, I thought she was in her nightgown since it doesn’t seem like a complete dress. Your story made me think maybe Ettie “borrowed” the slip or gown from a little girl who lives in the house. Or maybe that’s the only garment she has.

    When you wrote about the green eyes she shared with the Captain, I began to suspect Ettie was his daughter. I’m glad you waited until later in the story to write about their eyes. You put a lot of details that make it interesting. Isn’t it amazing how everyone sees different things in the painting?

    Thanks for responding to my writing challenge. Do you know how to put your story on my blog? I want to have all the stories and poems in the comment section. I’ve heard about Pingbacks but don’t know how to use them. Would that be a way to add your story to my blog? I also want to make a page just for the Writing Challenge and have each month’s responses organized there so people can go back to read them. I should go to WordPress school! 🙂

    Great job Amanda. I will have a new challenge in April.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I have been around WordPress long enough to know that WordPress pingbacks, while unreliable, are a perfect way to link a blogger’s post to your blog. I used to run a poetry and Friendly Friday photo challenge and pingback links worked fine. But then, if you wish to re-blog each story, you could do that too or copy/paste them into a separate page on your blog. I am amazed at how many have taken up your challenge. You could add a new post collating all the pingbacks in a list – thats another option.
      Thank you for your specific feedback on my story. I see you picked up on clues I littered through the story for the readers and worked out Ettie was the Captain’s peasant illegitimate daughter via the servant.
      And yes the repeated line was a deliberate literary device. I also used it to separate the content.
      Let me know if you want me to add the story to your blog. You would need to give me editing permissions to enable me to do that, wouldn’t you?

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much, Gwendoline. If the opening line drew you into the story, I succeeded in my intention.
      I used the repitition to remind readers Ettie was crossing a boundary in her actions, but also as a way to break up scenes or plot points.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading this. Could it be that sexual relation between the captain and the servant wasn’t all that consensual? Since she never returned his smile and was always downcast around him.

    Like

    1. I suspect that you are right in your assumptions, Adetola. This was the point of mentioning the year in the story. Servant women had very few rights in those days, if any rights. They certainly were not in any position to refuse the sexual advances of the master, lest they be thrown out on the street. Historic facts.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Helen. It means a lot to read your comment and the repetition was intended to do just that. Link and separate.
      I do wonder about creative writing – sometimes the writing just flows and other times not. I wrote this story in a very short time, and it is entirely fictional, of course. Other times, stories I have written based more on facts but still fictional, take me days to conjure up a plot that is engaging. Yet the structure is half done by real life and I merely enhance it. This should be easier, but it isn’t always.
      I happened upon this blogger’s challenge by accident. I am glad I did.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you so much, Rebecca. That is kind of you to say so. I wrote this story very quickly and then left it sit for several days. When I came back to it, I’d written it so quickly, I hardly remembered writing it! Sometimes the writing just flows well. Othertimes, takes more time. It was also the first time I’d participated in this challenge. It was lots of fun to write and I really felt for the girl in the story. I am glad the repetitive phrase worked as intended.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a poignant story. It leaves me wanting to know more and to think about what the backstory is.

    On style, I think the “mother would be cross” thought is repeated too often. It sets the stage but then it starts to interrupt. Of course, that’s just a reader’s perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.