Community

Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs from around the World

I find profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and marvel at the way they can be so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and across cultures, and speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes like proverbs, can make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

“A crisis is an opportunity riding the dangerous wind.” Chinese Proverb

 Iceland


The saying I have chosen to post today appeared on a blog I recently discovered, An Old Age.  Jostein is Norwegian and writes engagingly about his life and family in Denmark. He has kindly given me permission to use his quote here.

To me, his words sum up the value of Proverbs and sayings in our modern life:-

” a quote is like one instrument from an entire orchestra”  Jostein Sand Nilsen at the blog: An Old Age

It is not the words themselves, but how you put them together and assign meaning to them, that makes them ‘play’ for you!

Something to Ponder About this Thursday.

6 thoughts on “Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs from around the World”

  1. Is this a conundrum? Or just a sentence chasing its own tail?
    I’m really amazed by thinking about this, Amanda; by trying to work out how to view a quote about a quote …

    Like

  2. When written in Chinese, the word ‘crisis’ is composed of two characters. One represents danger and the other represents opportunity.
    – John F. Kennedy

    Like

Comments are closed.