blogging

Bestseller Book – Boy Swallows Universe

Photo Credit: M. MOSAYEBI on Pexels.com

Love conquers all, love is the thing that will get you through … You’re not allowed to let the hand you’ve been dealt be your excuse for being a knucklehead.

Trent Dalton, ‘Boy Swallows Universe’

Followers of my blog may find the book - an Aussie bestseller and the Netflix series due for release tomorrow worth viewing.

The book Boy Swallows Universe has won a host of awards and which was longlisted for the 2019 Miles Franklin Award.

Highly relatable and engaging, the story is semi-autobiographical and written by Australian journalists, Trent Dalton, a staff writer for The Weekend Australian.

The book which has also been adapted for stage and screen is a coming of age story set in Brisbane and surrounds. Trent recounts many of the places and times that I knew myself growing up.

Take a look and let me know what you think?

stpa logo

18 thoughts on “Bestseller Book – Boy Swallows Universe”

    1. I just finished watching it. Apart from some cringe-worthing acting amidst some excellent acting, it was good watching. I picked that they weren’t filmed in the suburbs the novel set them in by the surrounds. One could not see the Gateway bridge from Darra! Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We have watched 2 episodes and are presently watching number 3. It’s fun to try and work out where the bits were filmed as despite it being set in Darra, hardly any of it was filmed there. Most down at Beenleigh.
    The music is great in it too.

    Like

      1. Google has a whole list of sites. The beautiful white Queenslander (where they buy the Atari) is in Chelmer and the beautiful stone mansion is out at Dalby. So many places were used.

        Like

      2. Oh yes, I recognized the stone mansion in Dalby from one of the reality TV shows – farmer wants a wife or Beauty and the Geek or such like. I knew I had seen the white Queenslander somewhere and I am sure I have seen it in Chelmer. I was wondering whether it was in the back of Ascot but couldn’t place it there. Thanks for putting me out of wondering.

        Like

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.