Community

Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs, Sayings and Quotes from Around the World

I find profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and marvel at the way they are so succinct in communicating messages to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and across cultures, and speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes like proverbs, can make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a Quote that I find thought-provoking.  I hope you will too.

Never talk of rope when with a hanged man’s family – Portuguese proverb

If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.
Vincent Van Gogh

We do not deal much in facts when we are contemplating ourselves.
Mark Twain

Something to Ponder About

2 thoughts on “Proverbial Thursday – Proverbs, Sayings and Quotes from Around the World”

  1. Excellent. I find the Van Gogh and Twain proverbs interesting. Who’s to say we can’t do something – all we have to do is give it a go and ta-dah 🙂 But really don’t like proving to someone, “I told you so.” Kind of spiteful…but I suppose it’s our gain. When thinking about ourselves, anything’s possible really. If you can dream it, you can do it. Have a good weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi again Mabel, and thanks for commenting. I have to say I absolutely agree with you and in fact, know several people that are spurred on to do something, often only when someone tells them they can’t!!! I hope your weekend is pretty cool too! It has been pretty warm down south.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.