blogging

Can You Cuddle and Hug Too Much?


“Mum says it is okay to kiss and hug someone you love.”

Case #1 – Foreign Language Film

I was watching a foreign movie wherein the protagonist who was a student of psychology remarked to a guest at a party:

“New studies show that if you cuddle your children too much, they will become drug addicts later in life.”

A surprising remark!

I understood that physical contact in terms of warm cuddles and hugs were extremely beneficial and comforting to all, when appropriate. Our brain secrete hormones like serotonin and oxytocin into the body when we’re physically affectionate, producing feelings of connection, bonding, and trust.

Once parenting progressed past the ‘spare the rod and spoil the child,’ philosophy so prevalent in the post-war era, I’d understood that there was no such thing as too much hugs for a young child. Studies seemed to confirm this.

So there were consequences for children who lacked physical contact. Children raised in Romanian orphanages, for example, with negligible physical contact lagged behind in all milestones and displayed recalcitrant behavioural issues, like anxiety or mal-adapted relationships.

Years ago, I spoke to a woman who was struggling through a messy divorce. She was adamant the only thing that kept her sane through the whole messy legal process, was to have regular massage from a therapist – the emotional benefits of physical touch! She then went on to change careers from a desk job to opening her own successful massage business.

So we can all agree that hugs are good, right?

Case #2 – At the Optometrist’s Reception Room

A young colleague is sitting in the Optometrist’s reception area awaiting an eye test. A child is playing there, while its mother is being seen by a clinician in an adjoining room. The child appears to become infatuated with my twenty-something colleague, approaching her, kissing her repeatedly on the arm and hugging my colleague, telling her, “I love you, as she sat waiting for her appointment.

Perhaps the young school-aged child had a disorder, no sense of stranger danger nor any idea of what is socially appropriate, but despite being asked to stop his behaviour by both my colleague and the receptionist, the child continued, saying “Mum says it is okay to kiss and hug someone you love.”

Addiction is too strong a word for this situation, but after seeing the film in Case #1 I wondered – Could too many hugs trigger a need in vulnerable individuals that could lead to more risk-taking pursuits? A reaction to an intolerance of discomfort?

A need, desire or dependency for that warm fuzzy bodily feeling triggered by the release of oxytocin/dopamine/serotonin hormones in the brain?

A strong insatiable desire to feel good instantly, when something negative happens to them. Or something that may in the extreme, manifest as a compulsion or an addiction to hugs and physical comfort and even sex or substances that induce similar effects?

The following is a comment found on Reddit in response to the topic:

Couples that cuddle can become addicted to one another. Symptoms of withdraw can occur when apart as a result of the hormone oxytocin, “the cuddling drug.”

This respondent encapsulated what many others said on that thread:

“Physical affection is a drug in almost every sense of the word. I
remember towards the end of my last relationship, cuddling literally
felt like getting a fix and after we broke up the withdrawal was real.”

From the website Psych central: New research, however, suggests that oxytocin must be used carefully because too much oxytocin (in healthy young adults) can actually result in over-sensitivity to the emotions of others.

Like everything in life, I guess treading the middle path is the best choice.

Blog logo on transparent background

37 thoughts on “Can You Cuddle and Hug Too Much?”

  1. I have a young friend whom I absolutely adore, and whom I get to see not nearly often enough. The hugging at start of meet and finish makes my month. Far too old to recall if there was much of it when I was a child; but now that I’m at the other end I don’t care about then, just above now. 🙂

    Like

    1. Good to hear that you are both enjoying some consensual hugs, M-R.
      As for the about/above issue- the auto-correct gremlins are everywhere. Be vigilant. They thought hugs should be gigs but I found that error before hitting send. Are you using a phone or pc?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was an interesting and thought-provoking read. I know that, coming from a family of huggers, our behaviour changed dramatically with Covid, and since then, we’ve all greatly reduced our hugging. I haven’t noticed any withdrawal signs and symptoms, but then again, I haven’t looked for them.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment, Terry. Yes, it’s interesting that you haven’t noticed any difference in how you feel about hugging. However, you still hug- so perhaps that is enough contact for you not to experience any withdrawal. It is kind of sad to think that our way of interacting has changed permanently since the pandemic. Some people are still adverse to hugging since Covid and stopped completely.

      Like

  3. I often see some of the opposite, children who are not cuddled and hugged enough, and they become sort of hug needy. They don’t learn boundaries. I hugged and cuddled my children a lot when they were little, and at some point the parent usually has to tell the child when enough is enough, peel them off you, and they start learning to recognize that there is a middle path, as you put it.
    It’s wonderful when you hear “Do you need a hug?” because when that is asked, it almost always exactly what is needed.

    Like

    1. Dorothy, I like that you always present the common sense approach to life’s challenges and the situations they trigger. You raise an important point here about boundaries and requesting if the person needs a hug. It is good manners, respectful and considerate. And can be very timely providing emotional support. Asking prevents misinterpretation of the intent behind hugs and physical contact.
      I do remember the ‘peeling off’ stage with my kids. And particularly with my first child. He was so sweet – he still wanted to hold my hand walking along in the shops because thats the way it had always been when we were out. [He never got lost!] But he reached an age where he needed to walk without holding his mother’s hand and funnily enough, he refuses all hugs now.
      I do think the child I referred to in the post was ‘hug needy’ for reasons unknown. I felt sorry for him.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. For many, it is hard to find a balance!
        I can relate to your son. My son was also loved hugs and cuddles when he was little, but now as an adult, he is stingy with them with me, although quite abundant with his own kids, so that’s what matters I guess!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. My parents – and family in general – were not into cuddling and hugging. My parents gave me a lot of attention…reading to me, talking to me….but not clinging, so no, I would not like a hug except where it comes naturally, with friends not seen for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Despite not growing up in a cuddling culture, you experienced affection and attention in other ways, Helen. That is an important point.
      If needs are met in other ways, hugging isn’t necessary. Sometimes, I think a hug can convey empathy in ways that words cannot do – or perhaps I can’t find the right words in the moment.
      Hugs that come naturally when greeting someone you have not seen for a long time do feel natural and appropriate to the situation. However, to the Japanese people, hugs are an invasion of personal space!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I did wonder about that line of dialogue. Was it simply provocative? The character saying it did not have any children herself. What was the trigger for such a line? I’ll think about that some more.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a hard time with the idea that snuggling your child leads to them becoming a drug addict. Because I would have thought the opposite was true: people looking for a warm feeling and not thinking it was available except through drugs.
    I think that people are pretty different in this area and that there may be additional factors. According to my mother I was a rather aloof child and my next sister down was a snuggler. Interestingly, my grandmother, who was very close to both of us didn’t agree with this assessment. I wonder if mom smoking a lot had something to do with it. Maybe my sister was less sensitive to the smell of smoke.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lots of things to respond to here, Xingfu.Thanks!
      First the smoking issue. I have a friend who’s mother chain-smoked and it repulsed my friend so much he could not think of his mother in any kind of affectionate way and would distance himself from her, so indeed smoking or other sensitivities could be relevant in how people view hugs and contact.
      As for the line in the movie, I do wonder what prompted that. I could not find evidence that directly correlated too much hugging with tendencies of drug use, however I do think that people feel a similar effect to drug withdrawal when love is unexpectedly withdrawn or a relationship breaks up. A kind of grief that can destroy susceptible people. They might take to stalking former partners or other desperate measures seeking contact with their ex. I remember one boyfriend who liked to use recreational drugs and alcohol who would fit this category. And he was the kind of personality that was most interested in nourishment of his own needs to the detriment of others. Perhaps this topic relates more to how disciplined a person is. Their level of self -control and how they develop ways to self-soothe any discomfort. Which a hug can often do.
      As teens and adults, they might seek medication or drugs to self-soothe their emotional pain. Rejection is mever easy. Those people may be the ones you alluded to – who have not been hugged enough. Or were hugged but never learned other appropriate ways to self soothe?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are so many ways we can be influenced and we are all a little different in how we respond to circumstances. I guess, in the end, we are all just doing the best we can and hoping for the best.

        Like

  6. Agreed in the middle path… I never had many cuddles as a child… I think I turned out okay.. 😉

    I once saw a disturbing documentary about an experiment with Monkeys… And a young baby chimp, being rejected by its mother over and over again, .. Yet that young baby chimp, knowing that it may still get hit by the Mother Chimpanzee, kept going towards its mother wanting cuddles…

    Most of us both Animal and Human.. Want to be Loved.. and in a secure home environment whether you are ‘cuddler’s’ or not, knowing you are loved is what counts.. And where lots of behaviour issues may arise when one feels left out, neglected, and so seek affection or addiction elsewhere.
    There really is no rhyme or reason as I see it.. I have known loving stable families have offspring that have gone off the rails..
    And other disfunctional families whose offspring have thrived and achieved great things…

    I feel we choose our Families in which to be birthed into.. And the subsequent teachings each can bring..

    I am a hugger… 🙂 and always will be!.. 🙂
    A thought provoking post xx Thank you

    Like

    1. Something seems to have happened to my response so I’m repeating it again. Apologies for the delay. The documentary with the monkey and the baby sounds awful. I think I may have seen it or something similar. For children, affection and shelter from the parent is absolutely vital and to be deprived of that, no doubt, has a long lasting effect that is hard to overcome except by the strongest of souls. You are right, we all want care and we will want a little bit of attention. Plus, you’re also right that some times even the best upbringing has consequences.
      Hugs are therapeutic!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I think hugging and touch is quite grounding for humans and probably other animals too. But too much causing children to become drug addicts….I think there would be other more prominent causes! I grew up with some cuddles but not many but I hug my friends when I see them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Even though you didn’t grow up with a hugging culture, it is lovely that you can still enjoy hugging as a greeting with friends.
      Hugging animals, especially pets, gives many of us a lot of comfort – that oxytocin boost. Does the animal see the hug in the same way? That may well depend on the animal and perhaps even individual animals. Some seem to feel comfortable being hugged while others look uncomfortable. Perhaps they feel like they are being restrained? My dogs usually love pats and cuddles and snuggle up to me. Previous dogs haven’t been as cuddly. Did you grow up with pets, Sophie and were they cuddled?

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Very nice you sharing Hugs & Cuddle human & animal. And where lots of behaviour issues may arise when one feels left out, neglected, and so seek affection or addiction elsewhere. It’s knowledgeable & learner post.

    Liked by 1 person

Everyone is important. What do you have to say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.