Community

Proverbial Thursday – Pearls of Wisdom

I find there to be profound wisdom in proverbs, sayings and quotes and I marvel at the way they are so succinct, in communicating messages, to the reader. Mostly anonymous, they come to us from past generations and from across cultures. They speak of the experiences of lives lived and lessons learned. Quotes, like proverbs, make us think more deeply about something.

Each Thursday, I post a Proverb or Saying and a quote that I find thought-provoking. 

I hope you think so too.

20160528_130558

The less you expect, the more pleasant life gets

– Anonymous

Do expectations set you up for failure? Or give you a challenge to rise to?

Is there one thing that it is impossible not to have expectations about? Perhaps our career?

Perhaps we might feel less burdened without expectations? I know I would feel freer, but I fear that my motivation might also then decrease proportionately. What do you think?

I think anyone who has an opinion, and voices it, will offend someone

– Peter Steele

pulling-out-hair

Like expectations, is it impossible to have a world devoid of offensive opinions? Can we be so politically correct, so careful in our communication, so inert in our opinions that we do not offend?

Join in the discussion by leaving a comment.

Proverbial Thursday challenging you to have Something to Ponder About.

11 thoughts on “Proverbial Thursday – Pearls of Wisdom”

  1. The second is certainly true. I’ve offended more people than I care to count, Amanda. 🙂 🙂 I love expectations when it comes to things like holidays. Life needs a few ups and downs, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well said Jo. Almost everyone looks forward to holidays and it is hard not to have positive expectations of them. But with holidays and expectations occasionally comes disappointment, especially when holidays are over!!
      I try hard not to offend anyone and feel bad if I do, but comments can be taken greatly out of context by someone’s background and experience. And some of us have sensitivities about certain matters. I tend to think that most people don’t make offensive comments maliciously or deliberately but if they did then they are probably not the nicest people to know either.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It is sooo true. Many of us get on a journey full of anticipation. But sometimes reality may not square with the initial expectation we had before embarking on the journey… sort of anti-climax. On the other hand, don’t have expectations and prepared to be amazed!
    That the trouble these days with some folks. They can’t seem to accept that another person’s opinion! What happened to freedom of speech?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The difficulty is in managing expectation to a healthy level, isn’t it, Mel and Suan. If we rid ourselves of all expectation and anticipation, would we be devoid of motivation? We would certainly be amazed at many things. But perhaps also a little dry????
      Your comment about freedom off speech reminded me of a past High court Judge here who changed Australian society for the better with his rulings on freedom of speech. He was a staunch advocate and miles ahead of his time. Sadly, such visionaries seem to be a little forgotten at times in our current world situation, due to safety and security fears.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Our view is that we should not confuse expectations with aspirations. We work towards our aspirations. Expectations are what we determine will be the outcome of our efforts (if any). Heheh.
        Today, the right to speak one’s mind has been lost in our opinion. Being politically correct has become a norm. Even some words have become demonized!

        Like

  3. The Buddhists believe that expectations are the cause of suffering. I kind of agree. If I have no expectations of something or someone, I’m never disappointed. When you follow the thought all the way through, you see it works. For example: I would like my children to always be well behaved but when they aren’t I can take the proper action to change the behavior rather than be disappointed that they didn’t always “measure up”. As for opinions, everyone has one and no one wants yours. When you share, 2 things can happen. You can have an expectation of acceptance (leading often to disappointment) or you encounter resistance that leads to conflict. But we are human and we always have expectations and always share our opinion. I expect resistance every time I post a blog or share a comment. 🙂

    Like

      1. I’m learning slowly not to have expectations. Just accept what comes so the conflict/disappointment is less. Since I’m not Buddhist or anything else, I have a long way to go with this but I think they may be on to something. One more life lesson to learn.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.